Mike Myers to Make his Directorial Debut with Documentary ‘Supermensch’

By Will Ashton

Image

As a kid, I was a big Mike Myers fan. The original Wayne’s World remains one of my favorite comedies. But once The Love Guru came out, me, and the rest of the world, just kind of forgot about him.

Mike Myers hasn’t been in a movie since Shrek Forever After in 2010, and hasn’t acting in person in a movie since Inglorious Basterds. While it seems like he may not be returning in front of the camera again just yet, he will be returning to movies behind the camera. He will be making his directorial debut with the documentary Supermensch, about the life of talent manager Shep Gordon, the man who worked with stars like Alice Cooper, Blondie and more.

Deadline reported the news. Myers released a statement saying:

I met Shep Gordon in 1991 on the set of Wayne’s World. I thought he was a perfect combination of Brian Epstein, Marshall McLuhan and Mr Magoo. I’ve been trying to get Shep to agree to let me make a movie about him for 10 years. Last year he finally he said yes. I loved him like a brother before we started making this film and now having sifted through his life and his legacy, I love him even more.

Gordon was the one who was able to not only convince Cooper to appear in Wayne’s World, but he also got the star to license the use of the song “Feed My Frankenstein.” This was how the movie star and the talent manager developed their friendship.

The documentary will be produced by A&E’s IndieFilms.

Leave a Reply

