Charlie Hunnam and Dakota Johnson Cast as Leads in ’50 Shades of Grey’

By Will Ashton

Image

The phenomenon on 50 Shades of Grey, like many phenomenons, is one that I don’t understand. But, alas, it’s here to stay, at least for the time being, so it is with that that the movie’s adaptation has officially cast Pacific Rim‘s Charlie Hunnam and Ben and Kate‘s Dakota Johnson as the leads.

E.L. James, the author of the book, broke the news on Twitter. On it, she said the following, “I am delighted to let you know that the lovely Dakota Johnson has agreed to be our Anastasia in the film adaptation of Fifty Shades of Grey.” Later, she tweeted, “The gorgeous and talented Charlie Hunnam will be Christian Grey in the film adaptation of Fifty Shades of Grey.”

The film is set to be released in August of 2014, and will be directed by Sam Taylor-Johnson (Nowhere Boy). I am a fan of Taylor-Johnson solo film, along with her music video of “Überlin” for R.E.M. But I can’t really get excited by anything for this movie. Like I mentioned in my Pacific Rim review, I have heard good things about Son of Anarchy, but I haven’t seen anything that suggest Hunnam can really act. I’m not really familiar with Dakota Johnson’s work, so I only hope for the best for both her and this film.

One thought on “Charlie Hunnam and Dakota Johnson Cast as Leads in ’50 Shades of Grey’

  1. Pingback: CHARLIE HUNNAM cast in 50 Shades of Grey | BIZARRE & CURIOUS

Leave a Reply

