Will Eli Roth Direct a Horror Movie Written by David O. Russell?

By Will Ashton

David-O-Russell-005

I can’t speak for everyone, of course, but I’m pretty sure most people would never really think David O. Russell (Silver Linings Playbook) and Eli Roth (Hostel) would ever cross paths in their professional career.s But, apparently, that may be happening, as Eli Roth may be directing a horror script Russell wrote.

In The Hollywood Reporter annual directors roundtable, Russell, there for his upcoming American Hustle, revealed that he has a pile of unproduced screenplays that he’s written over the years. He noted that many of them were out of his usual dramatic genre, including one that’s apparently a time-travel film. But he did note that the one script, a horror film, could be made by director Eli Roth.

Specifically, Russell said the following:

“I wrote a couple of things that someone might make, Eli Roth may actually do one, I wrote a horror a few years ago. Well it’ll be coupled with Eli Roth, that’s exciting to me. Cause I had to write to support myself. So I wrote a horror for producer Colleen Camp, a horror film that I thought was interesting. And Eli thinks its interesting, I think he’s going to make it more interesting. It’s emotional, it’s also… we’ll see. It’s also…I don’t wanna say anything more, I’ll let Eli talk about it.”

He also mentioned another script he wrote, of which he said:

“I also wrote a supernatural… sort of a time thing, that again is out of my genre. You (Alfonso Cuaron) would probably be better at it than me.”

Considering that Russell has been on a roll of late, I have been especially interested with anything that has Russell’s name on it. I’m not the biggest fan of Roth’s work, but I would be more than willing to see him working on something penned by the Academy Award-nominated screenwriter.

Leave a Reply

